FIA: No penalty for Ferrari - FORMULA 1


Next: German GP 20-22 July

Wednesday, September 8, 2010

FIA: No penalty for Ferrari

FIA president Jean Todt did not attend the hearing, which was chaired by the deputy president for sport, Graham Stoker.

FIA Statement:
"On July 25 2010, at the grand prix of Germany, the stewards of the meeting found an infringement by the Scuderia Ferrari to the prohibition of team orders interfering with a race result and then decided to impose a fine of $100,000 and to forward the dossier to the World Motor Sport Council for further consideration.

The Judging Body of the World Motor Sport Council held an extraordinary hearing in Paris on September 8, 2010 to examine this matter. After an in depth analysis of all reports, statements and documents submitted, the judging body has decided to confirm the stewards' decision of a $100,000 fine for infringing article 39.1 of the sporting regulations and to impose the payment of the costs incurred by the FIA."

"The judging body has also acknowledged that article 39.1 of the sporting regulations should be reviewed and has decided to refer this question to the Formula 1 Sporting Working Group."

In a press release Ferrari said:
"Ferrari has taken note of the decision of the FIA World Council, relating to the outcome of this year's German Grand Prix and wishes to express its appreciation of the Council's proposal to review article 39.1 of the Formula 1 Sporting Regulations, in light of what emerged during today's discussions. Now, all the team's efforts will be focussed on the next event on track, when the Italian Grand Prix takes place at Monza this weekend."

Before this hearing FIA announced that none of the organisations bidding to become Formula 1's 13th team in 2011 have met its requirements, and that the grid will therefore stay at 24 cars.

Also FIA's World Motor Sport Council has released the provisional race calendar for the 2011 Formula 1 season, which sees Interlagos regain the season finale for the first time since 2008.

2011 F1 calendar:

13/03 Bahrain
27/03 Australia
10/04 Malaysia
17/04 China
08/05 Turkey
22/05 Spain
29/05 Monaco
12/06 Canada
26/06 Europe (Valencia)
10/07 Great Britain
24/07 Germany
31/07 Hungary
28/08 Belgium
11/09 Italy
25/09 Singapore
09/10 Japan
16/10 Korea
30/10 India*
13/11 Abu Dhabi
27/11 Brazil

* Subject to the homologation of the circuit