Next: German GP 20-22 July

Friday, August 27, 2010



Fernando Alonso fastest and on dry Spa circuit

Fernando Alonso made the most of a dry Spa Francorchamps circuit to set the fastest time of the second session of free practice, the Ferrari driver clocking a 1:49.032 to finish ahead of Adrian Sutil and Lewis Hamilton on his very last lap. With only little rain falling at the start of the session, the conditions were considerably better than in the morning so some teams, including Ferrari, went out with intermediates.

With his tyres up to optimum temperature, Alonso bettered his time from the first session to become the first driver to break below the two minute barrier. Lewis Hamilton followed Alonso's lead shortly afterwards, going quickest with a 1:59.397 just as Timo Glock and Antonio Liuzzi became the first drivers to slither off the circuit, proving conditions were still treacherous. With the track drying rapidly in the Belgian sunshine, so the lap times tumbled accordingly. Robert Kubica making the most of Renault's new F-duct to top the timesheets from Mark Webber, Felipe Massa and Michael Schumacher on the half hour mark.
P.  Driver              Team                  Time       Gap   Laps
1. Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1m49.032s 25
2. Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1m49.157s +0.125 17
3. Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1m49.248s +0.216 14
4. Robert Kubica Renault 1m49.282s +0.250 20
5. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m49.588s +0.556 23
6. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1m49.689s +0.657 19
7. Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1m49.755s +0.723 20
8. Pedro de la Rosa Sauber-Ferrari 1m50.081s +1.049 27
9. Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1m50.128s +1.096 22
10.Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1m50.200s +1.168 24
11.Vitaly Petrov Renault 1m50.251s +1.219 24
12.Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1m50.341s +1.309 23
13.Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m50.382s +1.350 21
14.Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m50.682s +1.650 25
15.Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 1m50.831s +1.799 20
16.Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 1m51.520s +2.488 17
17.Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m51.523s +2.491 25
18.Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1m51.636s +2.604 19
19.Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 1m53.480s +4.448 15
20.Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 1m53.639s +4.607 21
21.Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 1m54.325s +5.293 17
22.Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 1m55.751s +6.719 24
23.Sakon Yamamoto HRT-Cosworth 1m56.039s +7.007 21
24.Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 2m03.179s +14.147 3


Alonso fastest on rainy Spa

The rain that fell today morning in Spa made imposible teams to make many laps and test upgrades to their cars. The best on wet was Fernando Alonso and despite the water on the track managed to improve his time. Closest to him, but with seven tenth behind was Lewis Hamilton who drove only seven laps. Robert Kubica with the new F-duct of his Renault was third on this morning practice. As always on rain times does not show the real potential of cars and drivers. Despite bad weather, none of the drivers did not damage to car, although few had expected derailed off the track, especially for Schumacher, Heikki Kovalainen and Massa.
P.   Driver              Car                   Time         Gap  Laps
1. Fernando Alonso Ferrari 2m00.797s 17
2. Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 2m01.567s + 0.770s 7
3. Robert Kubica Renault 2m02.081s + 1.284s 14
4. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 2m02.450s + 1.653s 11
5. Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 2m02.646s + 1.849s 14
6. Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 2m02.913s + 2.116s 6
7. Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 2m02.926s + 2.129s 11
8. Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari 2m03.401s + 2.604s 17
9. Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 2m03.424s + 2.627s 7
10. Michael Schumacher Mercedes 2m03.489s + 2.692s 9
11. Felipe Massa Ferrari 2m03.601s + 2.804s 17
12. Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 2m03.649s + 2.852s 17
13. Nico Rosberg Mercedes 2m03.654s + 2.857s 6
14. Pedro de la Rosa BMW Sauber-Ferrari 2m03.851s + 3.054s 17
15. Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 2m04.145s + 3.348s 12
16. Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari 2m04.250s + 3.453s 16
17. Vitaly Petrov Renault 2m04.690s + 3.893s 15
18. Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 2m05.680s + 4.883s 6
19. Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 2m05.697s + 4.900s 18
20. Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 2m06.695s + 5.898s 14
21. Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 2m07.189s + 6.392s 15
22. Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 2m07.737s + 6.940s 13
23. Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 2m07.955s + 7.158s 15
24. Sakon Yamamoto HRT-Cosworth 2m10.507s + 9.710s 1