Monza 2009 Podium

Rubens Barrichello won the Italian Grand Prix for the third time in his career and gave his title hopes a boost in the process, as his team-mate Jenson Button followed him home in a Brawn GP one-two. Kimi Raikkonen snatched a surprise podium - just ahead of Adrian Sutil - as Lewis Hamilton spun out of third place on the final lap.

Hamilton was unable to make his two-stop strategy work, despite charging away from the field from pole in the opening stint, but was on course for third ahead of Raikkonen and qualifying hero Sutil until his eleventh hour crash at the first Lesmo, which caused the race to finish behind the safety car.
The Italian Grand Prix
Autodromo di Monza, Italy;
53 laps; 306.720km;
Weather: Sunny.


Pos Driver Team Time
1. Barrichello Brawn-Mercedes (B) 1h16:21.706
2. Button Brawn-Mercedes (B) + 2.866
3. Raikkonen Ferrari (B) + 30.664
4. Sutil Force India-Mercedes (B) + 31.131
5. Alonso Renault (B) + 59.182
6. Kovalainen McLaren-Mercedes (B) + 1:00.693
7. Heidfeld BMW Sauber (B) + 1:22.412
8. Vettel Red Bull-Renault (B) + 1:25.427
9. Fisichella Ferrari (B) + 1:26.856
10. Nakajima Williams-Toyota (B) + 2:00.000
11. Glock Toyota (B) + 2:43.925
12. Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes (B) + 1 lap
13. Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari (B) + 1 lap
14. Trulli Toyota (B) + 1 lap
15. Grosjean Renault (B) + 1 lap
16. Rosberg Williams-Toyota (B) + 2 laps

Fastest lap: Sutil, 1:24.739

Not classified/retirements:

Driver Team On lap
Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes (B) 23
Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari (B) 20
Kubica BMW Sauber (B) 16
Webber Red Bull-Renault (B) 1