Sunday, September 6, 2015


Lewis Hamilton held on to a dominant Italian Grand Prix victory after he escaped escaped sanction in a post-race investigating into Mercedes' starting tyre pressures. The Briton took his seventh victory of the season in Monza, with the Mercedes driver beating Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel to the flag by 25 seconds.

The Briton had been cruising in the final stages of the race when, with a handful of laps remainning, he was suddenly told to increase the 19-second gap he had in hand over Vettel. "We need to pull a gap, don't ask questions, just execute," said his race engineer, who informed Hamilton that all would be explained after the chequered flag. The issue stemmed from tests on the grid, inside the five-minute-signal before the start, that had revealed that the left-rear tyre of Hamilton’s car and that of team-mate Rosberg had tyre pressures below the minimum starting pressures specified for the weekend. Hamilton’s tyre was 0.3psi below the specification, while Rosberg’s was 0.6 under the required mark.

However, after the investigation the team was found not to be at fault for the transgression with the stewards stating that "the pressure in the tyres concerned were at the minimum start pressure recommended by Pirelli when they were fitted to the car."

The stewards added that "the tyre warming blankets had been disconnected from their power source, as is normal procedure, and the tyres were significantly below the maximum permitted tyre blanket temperature at the time of the FIA’s measurement on the grid, and at significantly different temperatures from other cars measured on the grid."

Further, the Stewards are satisfied that the team followed the currently specified procedure, supervised by the Tyre Manufacturer, for the safe operation of the tyres.

Third place in the race went to Williams’ Felipe Massa who inherited the position less than two laps from the chequered flag when the engine in Nico Rosberg’s Mercedes failed. Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen who stalled on the front row of the grid at the start and dropped to the back of the field recovered to finish in fifth place behind the second Williams of Valtteri Bottas.

Sergio Perez was sixth for Force India, while team-mate Nico Hulkenberg took seventh. Red Bull Racing’s put in a battling drive to climb from 19th place on the grid to take eighth place and the final points positions were occupied by Sauber’s Marcus Ericsson and the second Red Bull of Daniil Kvyat.

53 laps, 306.720km., Weather: Sunny.
 P.     DRIVER            TEAM             TIME   
 1. Lewis Hamilton      Mercedes AMG   1h18:00.688
 2. Sebastian Vettel    Ferrari         +   25.042
 3. Felipe Massa        Williams        +   47.635
 4. Valtteri Bottas     Williams        +   47.996
 5. Kimi Raikkonen      Ferrari         + 1:08.860
 6. Sergio Perez        Force India     + 1:19.471
 7. Nico Hulkenberg     Force India     +    1 lap
 8. Daniel Ricciardo    Red Bull        +    1 lap
 9. Marcus Ericsson     Sauber          +    1 lap
10. Daniil Kvyat        Red Bull        +    1 lap
11. Carlos Sainz JR.    Toro Rosso      +    1 lap
12. Max Verstappen      Toro Rosso      +    1 lap
13. Felipe Nasr         Sauber          +    1 lap
14. Jenson Button       McLaren         +    1 lap
15. Will Stevens        Manor           +   2 laps
16. Roberto Merhi       Manor           +   2 laps

Fastest LAP: Lewis Hamilton - 1:26.672            

Nico Rosberg         Mercedes AMG      51
Fernando Alonso      McLaren           48
Romain Grosjean      Lotus              2
Pastor Maldonado     Lotus              1

After 12 races:
Drivers:                     Constructors:        
 1. Lewis Hamilton    252   1. Mercedes AMG  451
 2. Nico Rosberg      199   2. Ferrari       270
 3. Sebastian Vettel  178   3. Williams      188
 4. Felipe Massa       97   4. Red Bull      113
 5. Kimi Raikkonen     92   5. Force India    63
 6. Valtteri Bottas    91   6. Lotus          50
 7. Daniil Kvyat       58   7. Toro Rosso     35
 8. Daniel Ricciardo   55   8. Sauber         25
 9. Romain Grosjean    38   9. McLaren        17
10. Sergio Perez       33
11. Nico Hulkenberg    30
12. Max Verstappen     26
13. Felipe Nasr        16
14. Pastor Maldonado   12
15. Fernando Alonso    11
16. Carlos Sainz JR.    9
17. Marcus Ericsson     9
18. Jenson Button       6