Next: German GP 20-22 July

Wednesday, July 23, 2014


Nico Rosberg extended his lead in the Formula 1 world championship with a comfortable victory in the German Grand Prix at Hockenheim. The Mercedes driver converted pole position into his fourth win of the season, while the Williams of Valtteri Bottas fended off the second Mercedes of Rosberg's title rival Lewis Hamilton to finish second. Hamilton fought his way through the field to finish third from 20th on the grid, following his brake-failure-induced crash in qualifying.

There was drama as soon as the lights went out at the start. While Rosberg and Bottas got away well, McLaren’s Kevin Magnussen, who’d made a good start, collided with the Williams of Felipe Massa and the Brazilian’s car was flipped upside down as the pair slid into the gravel trap at turn one. The Williams came to rest right side up and Massa was quickly out of the car. The accident ruled him out of the race however. Magnussen was able to continue, though he had to pit for repairs and the Dane rejoined at the back of the field. The incident disadvantaged Ricciardo who had to take evasive action and he dropped back to 15th. Vettel steered clear of the chaos, however, and rose to third as the safety car was deployed. When the racing resumed Rosberg held his lead from Bottas, with Vettel third ahead of Alonso. Nico Hulkenberg was in fifth, while Jenson Button had risen to sixth from 11th on the grid.

The race was largely about Hamilton’s charge through the pack. By lap 56 he was up to 3rd behind Bottas, who didn`t allowed making any futher progress. Hamilton was, however, down on his front-running team-mate and championship advantage.

Behind them a great battle developed between Alonso and Ricciardo, with duo tussling hard for P6. Despite Ricciardo’s best efforts he couldn’t resist indefinitely and eventually the Ferrari driver muscled past at the hairpin. He ran deep, however, and offered Ricciardo a way back in. The Australian pushed hard to recover the position but Alonso held on. With Vettel now 7.6s ahead and out of reach fourth was the best Alonso could do. It was by a tiny margin, however. Ricciardo battled to the end and when the duo took the flag there were just hundredths of a second separating the pair.

At the front Rosberg took a comfortable fourth win of the season but behind him Hamilton could find no way past the calm and collected Bottas, who took his third podium finish in a row. With Vettel fourth for Red Bull and Alonso and Ricciardo taking P5 and P6 respectively, seventh place was taken by Hulkenberg. Button was eighth, ahead of team-mate Magnussen and the final points position. Rosberg’s win leaves him on 190 points with Hamilton now 14 points back. Ricciardo lies third with 106 points, nine clear of Alonso, who is six ahead of Vettel.
67 laps, 306.458km., Weather: Sunny.
 P.   DRIVER              TEAM            TIME     
 1. Nico Rosberg        Mercedes AMG    1h33m42.914
 2. Valtteri Bottas     Williams         +   20.789
 3. Lewis Hamilton      Mercedes AMG     +   22.530
 4. Sebastian Vettel    Red Bull         +   44.014
 5. Fernando Alonso     Ferrari          +   52.467
 6. Daniel Ricciardo    Red Bull         +   52.549
 7. Nico Hulkenberg     Force India      + 1:04.178
 8. Jenson Button       McLaren          + 1:24.711
 9. Kevin Magnussen     McLaren          +    1 lap
10. Sergio Perez        Force India      +    1 lap
11. Kimi Raikkonen      Ferrari          +    1 lap
12. Pastor Maldonado    Lotus            +    1 lap
13. Jean-Eric Vergne    Toro Rosso       +    1 lap
14. Esteban Gutierrez   Sauber           +    1 lap
15. Jules Bianchi       Marussia         +    1 lap
16. Kamui Kobayashi     Caterham         +   2 laps
17. Max Chilton         Marussia         +   2 laps
18. Marcus Ericsson     Caterham         +   2 laps

Fastest Lap: Lewis Hamilton - 1:19.908               

Driver            Team         On lap              
Nico Rosberg       Mercedes AMG   29
Adrian Sutil       Sauber         47
Daniil Kvyat       Toro Rosso     45
Romain Grosjean    Lotus          27
Felipe Massa       Williams        1

 DRIVERS:                    CONSTRUCTORS:            
 1. Nico Rosberg       190   1. Mercedes AMG  366
 2. Lewis Hamilton     176   2. Red Bull      188
 3. Daniel Ricciardo   106   3. Williams      121
 4. Fernando Alonso     97   4. Ferrari       116
 5. Valtteri Bottas     91   5. Force India    98
 6. Sebastian Vettel    82   6. McLaren        96
 7. Nico Hülkenberg     69   7. Toro Rosso     15
 8. Jenson Button       59   8. Lotus           8
 9. Kevin Magnussen     37   9. Marussia        2
10. Felipe Massa        30
11. Sergio Pérez        29
12. Kimi Räikkönen      19
13. Jean-Éric Vergne     9
14. Romain Grosjean      8
15. Daniil Kvyat         6
16. Jules Bianchi        2