Tuesday, February 18, 2014


The second four-day official test of the year takes place in Bahrain from Wednesday to Saturday this week, the same venue that will host the third and final pre-season test later this month. The warm ambient conditions of around 20 degrees centigrade or higher are set to provide a marked contrast to the first test of the year in Jerez, which featured low temperatures and rain.

All the teams are expected to be present at the Bahrain test, as they continue to optimise the interaction between their radical new cars – with 1.6-litre turbocharged engines and advanced energy recuperation systems – and the latest generation of Pirelli tyres, which feature new compounds and constructions this year. The track contains a wide variety of speeds and corners with high longitudinal demands that address most aspects of a tyre’s behaviour, making it an ideal test venue.

In the centre of attention this week, will be Red Bull RB10 and Lotus E22. We saw just couple of images of E22 which posed more questions than they answered. Lotus car will have it`s first steps after limited promotional running at Jerez.
  TEAM         WEDNESDAY, 19/2/2014 THURSDAY 20/2/2014
Red Bull       Sebastian Vettel     Sebastian Vettel
Ferrari        Fernando Alonso      Fernando Alonso
McLaren        Jenson Button        Jenson Button
Lotus          Romain Grosjean      Romain Grosjean
Mercedes AMG   Luis Hamilton        Nico Rosberg
Sauber         Adrian Sutil         Esteban Guttierez
Force India    Nico Hulkenberg      Nico Hulkenberg
Williams       tba                  tba
Toro Rosso     Daniil Kvyat         Jean-Eric Vergne
Caterhan       Robin Frijns         Kamui Kobayashi
Marussia       Jules Bianchi        Max Chilton
 TEAM          FRIDAY, 21/2/2014,   SATURDAY, 22/2/2014
Red Bull       Daniel Ricciardo     Daniel Ricciardo
Ferrari        Kimi Raikkonen       Kimi Raikkonen
Mclaren        Kevin Magnussen      Kevin Magnussen
Lotus          Pastor Maldonado     Pastor Maldonado
Mercedes AMG   Luis Hamilton        Nico Rosberg
Sauber         Esteban Guttierez    Adrian Sutil
Force India    Sergio Perez         Sergio Perez
Williams       tba                  tba
Toro Rosso     Daniil Kvyat         Jean-Eric Vergne
Caterham       Marcus Ericsson      Kamui Kobayashi
Marussia       Jules Bianchi        Max Chilton
teams are allowed an overall maximum total of 135 sets of tyres for testing this year, including the in-season tests. The maximum total for the three pre-season tests is 85 sets of tyres: 25 sets for Jerez and 30 each for the two Bahrain tests.

The teams will be able to test three slick compounds in Bahrain: hard, medium and soft. On top of this, they will also be able to test the ‘winter’ hard compound, which Pirelli has created to ensure a rapid warm-up even at low temperatures. The teams have asked to try this tyre, designed for Jerez, in Bahrain as well in order to assess how it performs in higher ambient temperatures. The ‘winter” version is recognisable by the fact that it has no markings, whereas the ‘standard’ 2014 hard compound carries orange markings.

Pirelli is also bringing an extra set of medium tyres per team to Bahrain, with 2014 construction and compound. However, these are actually considered to be ‘prototypes’ as their purpose is to test tyre behaviour without warming blankets, which will be banned from 2015 onwards.

Of the 30 sets at each team’s disposal, 22 sets of the four slick tyres (hard, ‘winter’ hard, medium, and soft) are selected by Pirelli in accordance with the teams. The remaining eight sets are chosen by the teams in advance, to suit their individual run plans.
 TYRE           SET PER TEAM   2013 GP FASTEST TIME    
Super soft           0             N/A
Soft                 2             N/A
Medium               10            1:32.330
Hard                 8             1:36.961
Intermediate         0             N/A
Wet                  0             N/A
Prototype-medium     1             N/A
Winter-hard          2             N/A