Prime Minister of Malaysia, The Honourable Dato’ Sri Mohd Najib Tun Razak, has today officially launched the FIA Formula E Championship in Putrajaya and witnessed the signing of the City Agreement between Tan Sri Aseh Bin Haji Che Mat for the city of Putrajaya and Dato’ Sri Johann Young, to officially host the second Formula E race on 18th October 2014. The event, held at the Putrajaya International Convention Centre (PICC), was hosted by Dato’ Seri Johann Young, a founding partner and investor of series promoters Formula E Holdings and Alejandro Agag, CEO of Formula E.
The Malaysian Prime Minister said: “I am delighted to be here today for the official launch of the 2014 FIA Formula E race in Putrajaya and to witness the unveiling of this remarkable car. I believe this event will be a very significant event, not only from the perspective of this race exclusively for electric cars, but for Malaysia it is a testimony of your confidence in us hosting this momentous event. Electric cars are the cars of the future and represent the next generation of vehicles for the global community.”

Alejandro Agag, speaking about the decision to hold the race in Malaysia, said: “Malaysia is a great tourism destination and one of the major players in the world of eco-tourism. And given Malaysia’s foray into car manufacturing, and experience in the logi stics of motor sports, the country is indeed an ideal choice. Of course we are delighted to have the full commitment of the Government of Malaysia and the local authorities for their support and for welcoming us here today.”