Next: German GP 20-22 July

Sunday, July 7, 2013


Red Bull Racing driver Sebastian Vettel has extended his championship lead with a hard-fought victory at the German Grand Prix, adopting a three-stop strategy. The championship leader started from second on the grid and made an excellent start to take the lead at the first corner. There were several strategies at work right from the beginning, with both Ferraris starting on the medium compound tyre, as well as the McLaren of Jenson Button and the Sauber of Nico Hulkenberg. From 11th, Nico Rosberg was also one of the seven drivers to start on the medium tyre.

A safety car with 36 laps to go prompted most drivers to make their second stops, with the final stops coming in the closing stages of the race. As different drivers were using varied strategies, the podium was only settled in the final laps. Lotus driver Kimi Raikkonen completed a long middle stint to lead the race, before pitting for soft tyres with 11 laps to go. Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso and Button also completed the race on the soft tyre. The top five finishers all used a three-stop strategy, with Button the highest-placed two-stopper in sixth.

Sebastian Vettel says: “It was a tough race; it was one of the toughest for a long time. I’m happy the race wasn’t two or three laps longer, as Kimi was a bit quicker towards the end. I’m very happy that it worked out and it’s very special. The team worked really hard to give me the chance to win this weekend and we got it. First of all you have to remember that it’s a privilege to have the opportunity to race in your home country; we have around 20 races, but there are obviously more than 20 countries, so it’s special to race at home and get so much support. I had a good start and then just focused on every single lap during the race. You don’t really think about where you are while you are racing, you can’t allow your mind to drift, but when the flag came out and the race was over I really let myself enjoy the parade lap and saw a lot of people in the grandstands cheering and waving flags. These pictures will remain in my head for a long, long time.”
The German Grand Prix, Nurburgring
60 laps, 306.458km., Weather: Sunnny.

 P.    DRIVER               TEAM            TIME     
 1.  Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull        1h41:14.711
 2.  Kimi Raikkonen       Lotus            +    1.008
 3.  Romain Grosjean      Lotus            +    5.830
 4.  Fernando Alonso      Ferrari          +    7.721
 5.  Lewis Hamilton       Mercedes AMG     +   26.927
 6.  Jenson Button        McLaren          +   27.996
 7.  Mark Webber          Red Bull         +   37.562
 8.  Sergio Perez         McLaren          +   38.306
 9.  Nico Rosberg         Mercedes AMG     +   46.821
10.  Nico Hulkenberg      Sauber           +   49.892
11.  Paul di Resta        Force India      +   53.771
12.  Daniel Ricciardo     Toro Rosso       +   56.975
13.  Adrian Sutil         Force India      +   57.738
14.  Esteban Gutierrez    Sauber           + 1:00.160
15.  Pastor Maldonado     Williams         + 1:01.929
16.  Valtteri Bottas      Williams         +    1 lap
17.  Charles Pic          Caterham         +    1 lap
18.  Giedo van der Garde  Caterham         +    1 lap
19.  Max Chilton          Marussia         +    1 lap

Fastest Lap: Kimi Raikkonen - 1:34.157               

Not classified:
Driver                 Team         On Lap           
Jean-Eric Vergne     Toro Rosso       22 
Jules Bianchi        Marussia         21 
Felipe Massa         Ferrari           3
After 9 Races:                
Drivers:                    Constructors:            
 1. S.Vettel        157     1. Red Bull         250
 2. F.Alonso        123     2. Mercedes AMG     183
 3. K.Raikkonen     116     3. Ferrari          180
 4. L.Hamilton       99     4. Lotus            157
 5. M.Webber         93     5. Force India       59
 6. N.Rosberg        84     6. McLaren           49
 7. F.Massa          57     7. Toro Rosso        24
 8. R.Grosjean       41     8. Sauber             7
 9. P.Di Resta       36       
10. J.Button         33       
11. A.Sutil          23       
12. S.Perez          16       
13. J.Vergne         13       
14. D.Ricciardo      11       
15. N.Hulkenberg      7