Sunday, April 21, 2013


Sebastian Vettel dominant to his 28th career win in the Bahrain Grand Prix. In a repeat of the 2012 Sakhir podium, Lotus duo Kimi Raikkonen and Romain Grosjean made it through the field to second and third. Reigning world champion Sebastian Vettel extend his drivers championship lead to 10 points. Vettel started from second on the grid on the P Zero White medium tyre and then completed two stints on the P Zero Orange hard tyre to seal his .

Vettel was involved in a tense battle with Fernando Alonso and Nico Rosberg at the start of the race, but once he emerged in the lead from the exit of turn four on lap three he looked unbeatable. Alonso looked likely to be his closest rival but his race was ruined when his DRS flap stuck open on lap five. He had to make an early pit stop to fix it but the problem emerged again the next time he used it and he pitted once more, dropping to 17th on lap nine. Impressively he managed to fight back to 8th without the use of DRS.

With Alonso out of contention, the best of the rest battle became a contest between di Resta and Raikkonen, both two-stopping compared to most frontrunners' three. Di Resta looked to be best-placed until approaching their final stops, when Raikkonen slipped past him just before pitting, and then built an advantage on his fresh tyres. Later Briton lost out on a podium as a result of Grosjean's late push and after an accomplished drive on a two-stop strategy had to settle for fourth.

Lewis Hamilton recovered from his grid penalty to finish fifth but had a tight battle with Mark Webber in the closing laps as the two traded position while trying to limit tyre wear. Webber ultimately lost out and on the final lap conceded another position to McLaren's Sergio Perez, who put in a very bullish performance that included running Alonso onto the gravel and contact with team-mate Button.

The four-stop strategies for Rosberg and Button left them ninth and tenth.
The Bahrain Grand Prix, Bahrain
57 laps, 308.405km., Weather: Dry.

 P.     DRIVER              TEAM             TIME     
 1.  Sebastian Vettel      Red Bull        1h36:26.945
 2.  Kimi Raikkonen        Lotus            +    9.100
 3.  Romain Grosjean       Lotus            +   19.500
 4.  Paul Di Resta         Force India      +   21.700
 5.  Lewis Hamilton        Mercedes AMG     +   35.200
 6.  Sergio Perez          McLaren          +   35.900
 7.  Mark Webber           Red Bull         +   37.200
 8.  Fernando Alonso       Ferrari          +   37.500
 9.  Nico Rosberg          Mercedes AMG     +   41.100
10.  Jenson Button         McLaren          +   46.600
11.  Pastor Maldonado      Williams         + 1:06.400
12.  Nico Hulkenberg       Sauber           + 1:12.900
13.  Adrian Sutil          Force India      + 1:16.700
14.  Valtteri Bottas       Williams         + 1:21.500
15.  Felipe Massa          Ferrari          + 1:26.300
16.  Daniel Ricciardo      Toro Rosso       +    1 lap
17.  Charles Pic           Caterham         +    1 lap
18.  Esteban Gutierrez     Sauber           +    1 lap
19.  Jules Bianchi         Marussia         +    1 lap
20.  Max Chilton           Marussia         +    1 lap
21.  Giedo van der Garde   Caterham         +   2 laps                 

Not classified:
Driver                  Team            On lap        
Jean-Eric Vergne        Toro Rosso        16

Fastest Lap: Sebastian Vettel - 1:36.961              

After 4 Races:                
Drivers:                   Constructors:              
 1. S.Vettel         77    1. Red Bull        109
 2. K.Raikkonen      67    2. Lotus            93
 3. L.Hamilton       50    3. Ferrari          77
 4. F.Alonso         47    4. Mercedes AMG     64
 5. M.Webber         32    5. Force India      26
 6. F.Massa          30    6. McLaren          23
 7. R.Grosjean       26    7. Toro Rosso        7
 8. P.Di Resta       20    8. Sauber            5
 9. N.Rosberg        14       
10. J.Button         13       
11. S.Perez          10       
12. D.Ricciardo       6       
13. A.Sutil           6       
14. N.Hulkenberg      5       
15. J.Vergne          1