Next: German GP 20-22 July

Saturday, November 3, 2012


Lewis Hamilton ended Red Bull monotony by seting fastest time in the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix qualifications. This is his 25th pole position. Behind him was Mark Webber who was faster than his team-mate Sebastian Vettel starting from third position. Right from the beginning of the qualification session was clear that Hamilton is the fastest driver and that there is no competition in none other driver.

Rivals for the title, Sebastian Vettel and Fernando Alonso had a disappointing qualifying session. German didn`t maked to the parc ferme, stopoing car on track, and his Ferrari rival reached only to the seventh starting position. Christian Horner explained that stopping the Vettel`s car was asked by Renault mechanics, which means the problem is in the engine. If it turns out that there was not enough fuel in it, it would mean deleting the achieved times by Vettel, and he will start from the last position.

Pastor Maldonado re-flashed with the Williams car and reached great for him fourth position, ahead of Kimi Raikkonen and Jenson Button, one of the few drivers who improved their times on their second outings in Q3 session.

In contrast Nico Rosberg made just a one quick lap in Q3 and was originally the fifth fastest driver, then fall to eighth starting position. Rosberg's performance was a great incentive for Mercedes AMG for what seemed to be another disappointing weekend. His team-mate Michael Schumacher was only 14th fastest, and on the radio we heard a lot of mutual apologies.

That is not everything as they wish in Ferrari garage proved ninth starting position for Felipe Massa, just ahead Romain Grosjean, Lotus. The race starts tomorrow at the same time, ie 14:00 CET. Follow the best Formula 1 blog in Macedonia or our FB page for the fastest way to learn about potential penalties for drivers who are under investigation.
Pos      Driver             Team           Time       Gap   
 1.  Lewis Hamilton        McLaren        1:40.630
 2.  Mark Webber           Red Bull       1:40.978  + 0.348
 3.  Sebastian Vettel      Red Bull       1:41.073  + 0.443
 4.  Pastor Maldonado      Williams       1:41.226  + 0.596
 5.  Kimi Raikkonen        Lotus          1:41.260  + 0.630
 6.  Jenson Button         McLaren        1:41.290  + 0.660
 7.  Fernando Alonso       Ferrari        1:41.582  + 0.952
 8.  Nico Rosberg          Mercedes AMG   1:41.603  + 0.973
 9.  Felipe Massa          Ferrari        1:41.723  + 1.093
10.  Romain Grosjean       Lotus          1:41.778  + 1.148  
Q2 Fastest time: L.Hamilton 1:40.901                                 
11.  Nico Hulkenberg       Force India    1:42.019  + 1.118
12.  Sergio Perez          Sauber         1:42.084  + 1.183
13.  Paul di Resta         Force India    1:42.218  + 1.317
14.  Michael Schumacher    Mercedes AMG   1:42.289  + 1.388
15.  Bruno Senna           Williams       1:42.330  + 1.429
16.  Kamui Kobayashi       Sauber         1:42.606  + 1.705
17.  Daniel Ricciardo      Toro Rosso     1:42.765  + 1.864
Q1 Fastest time: L.Hamilton 1:41.497                                    
18.  Jean-Eric Vergne      Toro Rosso     1:44.058  + 2.561
19.  Heikki Kovalainen     Caterham       1:44.956  + 3.459
20.  Charles Pic           Marussia       1:45.089  + 3.592
21.  Vitaly Petrov         Caterham       1:45.151  + 3.654
22.  Timo Glock            Marussia       1:45.426  + 3.929
23.  Pedro de la Rosa      HRT            1:45.766  + 4.269
24.  Narain Karthikeyan    HRT            1:46.382  + 4.885
107 time: 1:48.601