Next: German GP 20-22 July

Saturday, May 26, 2012


Schumi like in old good times !!!  
Michael Schumacher was fastest in Monaco Grand Prix qualifying, but Mark Webber will start from pole position due to the German's five-place grid penalty for crashing into Bruno Senna at Catalunya.

Schumacher snatched pole from Mark Webber at the end of a close session in Monte Carlo. A close Q3 saw Rosberg on provisional pole early on, with Romain Grosjean and Lewis Hamilton also looking quick. It was on the second runs that Webber took provisional pole, being pipped by Schumacher at the end while Hamilton could only go fourth.

A slightly disappointed Grosjean was fifth just ahead of Fernando Alonso. Kimi Raikkonen in the second Lotus menaged just eight fastest time. Sebastian Vettel opted not to run in the final session, and though he ended up tenth he will start one place further up as Pastor Maldonado takes a ten-place grid penalty for hitting Sergio Perez in final practice.

The big surprise today was Jenson Button's failure to progress in Q3, and was only 13th quickest after struggling to improve on his final lap, while both Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen scraped in to the top ten. Jean-Eric Vergne also hit the wall on his flying lap, losing the rear under braking for the Nouvelle Chicane and damaging his right rear suspension as well as losing his front wing. Felipe Massa came very close to a big accident when he came across the Toro Rosso at speed in the swimming pool section, having to duck inside Vergne to avoid contact.

After the Maldonado incident in final practice it was Perez himself who was the victim of Q1 as he crashed out and caused a red flag. Perez appeared to have a problem with his front left tyre as he took the fast first section of the swimming pool and understeered wide in to the barrier. He'll start 24th behind the Caterhams, Marussias and HRTs, though Heikki Kovalainen came within 0.050s of making it through in to Q2.
Pos       Driver              Team               Time        Gap   
 1.  Michael Schumacher    Mercedes             1:14.301
 2.  Mark Webber           Red Bull-Renault     1:14.381   + 0.080
 3.  Nico Rosberg          Mercedes             1:14.448   + 0.147
 4.  Lewis Hamilton        McLaren-Mercedes     1:14.583   + 0.282
 5.  Romain Grosjean       Lotus-Renault        1:14.639   + 0.338
 6.  Fernando Alonso       Ferrari              1:14.948   + 0.647
 7.  Felipe Massa          Ferrari              1:15.049   + 0.748
 8.  Kimi Raikkonen        Lotus-Renault        1:15.199   + 0.898
 9.  Pastor Maldonado      Williams-Renault     1:15.245   + 0.944
10.  Sebastian Vettel      Red Bull-Renault     no time
Q2 Fastest time: Felipe Masa 1:14.911                        Gap
11.  Nico Hulkenberg       Force India-Mercedes 1:15.421   + 0.510
12.  Kamui Kobayashi       Sauber-Ferrari       1:15.508   + 0.597
13.  Jenson Button         McLaren-Mercedes     1:15.536   + 0.625
14.  Bruno Senna           Williams-Renault     1:15.709   + 0.798
15.  Paul di Resta         Force India-Mercedes 1:15.718   + 0.807
16.  Daniel Ricciardo      Toro Rosso-Ferrari   1:15.878   + 0.967
17.  Jean-Eric Vergne      Toro Rosso-Ferrari   1:16.885   + 1.974
Q1 Fastest time: Nico Hulkenberg 1:15.418                    Gap
18.  Heikki Kovalainen     Caterham-Renault     1:16.538   + 1.120
19.  Vitaly Petrov         Caterham-Renault     1:17.404   + 1.986
20.  Timo Glock            Marussia-Cosworth    1:17.947   + 2.529
21.  Pedro de la Rosa      HRT-Cosworth         1:18.096   + 2.678
22.  Charles Pic           Marussia-Cosworth    1:18.476   + 3.058
23.  Narain Karthikeyan    HRT-Cosworth         1:19.310   + 3.892
24.  Sergio Perez          Sauber-Ferrari       no time