Next: German GP 20-22 July

Saturday, October 29, 2011


Another superb pole for German driver!!!
Sebastian Vettel did it again. He won his 13th pole this season and will stay enrolled in the history of Indian Grand Prix as driver who won the inaugural first starting position. Vettel got equal by the number of pole positions won in one season with Ayrton Senna and Alan Prost. He needs two more to be alone on top where now is Nigel Mansell with 14 pole positions in one season. Also, this was the 16th pole position for Red Bull this season, a new team record.

The fight for second place went to Lewis Hamilton, beating Mark Webber for a few hundredths of a second, but Briton will start from fifth becouse of yesterday penalty. This means that Red Bull starts from the first row, Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button from second and "good friends" Felipe Massa and Hamilton starting from the third row. To say that the Massa had spectacularly crash in his last fast lap, when he broke the front suspension of his right wheel from one of kerbs in turn 1.

Pos       Driver                Team               Time      Gap   
 1.  Sebastian Vettel      Red Bull-Renault      1m24.178
 2.  Lewis Hamilton        McLaren-Mercedes      1m24.474  + 0.296
 3.  Mark Webber           Red Bull-Renault      1m24.508  + 0.330
 4.  Fernando Alonso       Ferrari               1m24.519  + 0.341
 5.  Jenson Button         McLaren-Mercedes      1m24.950  + 0.772
 6.  Felipe Massa          Ferrari               1m25.122  + 0.944
 7.  Nico Rosberg          Mercedes              1m25.451  + 1.273
 8.  Adrian Sutil          Force India-Mercedes
 9.  Sebastien Buemi       Toro Rosso-Ferrari
10.  Jaime Alguersuari     Toro Rosso-Ferrari
Q2 Fastest time: S.Vettel 1:24.657                           Gap
11.  Vitaly Petrov         Renault               1m26.319  + 1.662
12.  Michael Schumacher    Mercedes              1m26.337  + 1.680
13.  Paul di Resta         Force India-Mercedes  1m26.503  + 1.846
14.  Pastor Maldonado      Williams-Cosworth     1m26.537  + 1.880
15.  Bruno Senna           Renault               1m26.651  + 1.994
16.  Rubens Barrichello    Williams-Cosworth     1m27.247  + 2.590
17.  Sergio Perez          Sauber-Ferrari        1m27.562  + 2.905
Q1 Fastest time: V.Petrov 1:26.189                           Gap
18.  Kamui Kobayashi       Sauber-Ferrari        1m27.876  + 1.687
19.  Heikki Kovalainen     Lotus-Renault         1m28.565  + 2.376
20.  Jarno Trulli          Lotus-Renault         1m28.752  + 2.563
21.  Narain Karthikeyan    HRT-Cosworth          1m30.216  + 4.027
22.  Daniel Ricciardo      HRT-Cosworth          1m30.238  + 4.049
23.  Jerome D'Ambrosio     Virgin-Cosworth       1m30.866  + 4.677
24.  Timo Glock            Virgin-Cosworth       1m34.046  + 7.857

107% time: 1:32.222
-Petrov had a penalty of five starting positions back over incident with Michael Schumacher in Korea
-Perez yesterday got three starting positions back for ignoring yellow flags in the first free training
-Hamilton also got a penalty of three starting positions back for ignoring yellow flags in the first free training
-Ricardo earned five starting positions back because of changed gear box.
-Karthikeyan earned five starting positions back for blocking Schumacher.