Next: German GP 20-22 July

Friday, November 12, 2010


If this was race results, Vettel would be smiling to World Champion Title

Sebastian Vettel set the fastest time of Friday's first practice session in Abu Dhabi. The Yas Marina track was damp at the beginning, following a surprise downpour this morning. The Red Bull driver set quickest time of 1:42.760 to top the timesheets from Lewis Hamilton, Jenson Button and team-mate Mark Webber. Championship leader Fernando Alonso finished the session sixth fastest ahead of Michael Schumacher's Mercedes, but not too much should be read into his lap times as he was likely running a heavy fuel load, with engine save mode turned on.

P.     DRIVER              TEAM                TIME         GAP   LAPS
1. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1m42.760s 18
2. Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1m43.369s + 0.609s 16
3. Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1m43.785s + 1.025s 19
4. Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1m43.840s + 1.080s 19
5. Robert Kubica Renault 1m44.080s + 1.320s 19
6. Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1m44.121s + 1.361s 17
7. Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1m44.199s + 1.439s 19
8. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1m44.604s + 1.844s 18
9. Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m44.718s + 1.958s 19
10. Nick Heidfeld Sauber-Ferrari 1m44.737s + 1.977s 19
11. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m45.160s + 2.400s 18
12. Vitaly Petrov Renault 1m45.445s + 2.685s 21
13. Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1m45.474s + 2.714s 15
14. Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1m45.552s + 2.792s 20
15. Tonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 1m45.585s + 2.825s 14
16. Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m46.003s + 3.243s 20
17. Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 1m46.644s + 3.884s 19
18. Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m47.105s + 4.345s 22
19. Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1m48.450s + 5.690s 19
20. Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 1m48.472s + 5.712s 17
21. Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 1m49.375s + 6.615s 13
22. Bruno Senna Hispania-Cosworth 1m49.590s + 6.830s 18
23. Christian Klien Hispania-Cosworth 1m50.274s + 7.514s 17
24. Fairuz Fauzy Lotus-Cosworth 1m51.705s + 8.945s 18


Lewis Hamilton made it more dramatic

Lewis Hamilton set the quickest time of the second free practice in Abu Dhabi. The McLaren driver raised hopes that he might be able to compete for victory on Sunday by outpacing both Red Bulls and Fernando Alonso's Ferrari. Despite the sudden drop in temperature, the lap times from the first practice session improved as the track rubbered in, Hamilton set fastest time before his time was bettered by Alonso and Vettel. With soft tyres the order of the day, Hamilton then jumped to the top of the timesheets once again with a 1:40.888. It proved to be enough and it will be interesting to see if the McLaren man can throw a spanner in the works of the title favourites on Saturday.

However, the times at the top were slightly skewed by a yellow flag during the top drivers' hot laps and Webber and Vettel making mistakes on one of their runs. Alonso complained of oversteer on his fast laps, adding, "I don't know what we can do" over the team radio. If the opening practice session was something of a dull affair, the evening proved more eventful, Lewis Hamilton nearly colliding with Bruno Senna's HRT at the end of a flying lap. The incident is being investigated by the stewards but would most likely result in a monetary fine rather than a sporting penalty.

Adding to the drama, Jaime Alguersuari spun his Toro Rosso at turn 19, causing the yellow flag at a crucial time for his rivals and leaving his car stranded on the circuit. A few laps later Felipe Massa ground to a halt, his Ferrari running out of fuel possibly due to a pick-up problem.

P.     DRIVER                TEAM               TIME        GAP
1. Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1m40.888s
2. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1m41.145s + 0.257s
3. Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1m41.314s + 0.426s
4. Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1m41.315s + 0.427s
5. Robert Kubica Renault 1m41.576s + 0.688s
6. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m41.583s + 0.695s
7. Vitaly Petrov Renault 1m42.096s + 1.208s
8. Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1m42.132s + 1.244s
9. Tonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 1m42.203s + 1.315s
10. Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m42.222s + 1.334s
11. Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1m42.246s + 1.358s
12. Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 1m42.449s + 1.561s
13. Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1m42.535s + 1.647s
14. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1m42.768s + 1.880s
15. Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1m42.914s + 2.026s
16. Nick Heidfeld Sauber-Ferrari 1m42.950s + 2.062s
17. Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m43.128s + 2.240s
18. Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m43.584s + 2.696s
19. Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 1m45.180s + 4.292s
20. Тimo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1m45.259s + 4.371s
21. Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 1m45.612s + 4.724s
22. Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 1m46.053s + 5.165s
23. Christian Klien Hispania-Cosworth 1m47.210s + 6.322s
24. Bruno Senna Hispania-Cosworth 1m47.434s + 6.546s