A definitive grid for the Japanese Grand Prix will be issued prior to the race on Sunday morning.

Title rivals Rubens Barrichello and Jenson Button, Force India's Adrian Sutil and Renault's Fernando Alonso have all been given five-place penalties for failing to slow sufficiently under yellow flags for Sebastien Buemi's accident in Q2. The Toro Rosso driver was also penalised for dragging his damaged car back to the pits.

Although provisional grids have been circulated, a firm decision on the starting order has yet to be made, as the positions will depend on the order in which penalties are applied - with the regulations stating that "grid position penalties will be applied to the drivers in question in the order the offences were committed."

Mark Webber and Timo Glock will have to start from the pitlane having changed chassis after today's accidents, while Tonio Liuzzi had already received a five-place penalty prior to qualifying due to a gearbox change.