Monday, September 21, 2009


The FIA's World Motor Sport Council has announced a 19-race calendar for the 2010 season, confirming the return of Canada. The governing body also confirmed South Korea will make its debut in Formula 1 next year with an October date.

Next year's championship will begin in Bahrain with Australia moving to second place on the calendar. Canada, absent from this year's calendar, will return on a June date subject to the completion of contract talks with FOM. Brazil will close the season on 14 November.

14/3 Bahrain
28/3 Australia
04/4 Malaysia
18/4 China
09/5 Spain
23/5 Monaco
30/5 Turkey
13/6 Canada*
27/6 Europe (Valencia)
11/7 Great Britain
25/7 Germany
01/8 Hungary
29/8 Belgium
12/9 Italy
26/9 Singapore
03/10 Japan
17/10 Korea
31/10 Abu Dhabi
14/11 Brazil

* Subject to the completion of contract negotiations with Formula One Management. If these are not completed then the Turkish Grand Prix will be moved to 6 June.

Note: The race in Australia will start at 17:00 local time, in Malaysia at 16:00 local time, in Singapore at 20:00 local time, and in Abu Dhabi at 1700 local time.