Monday, March 9, 2009


The top ten finishers in each Grand Prix score points towards both the drivers’ and the constructors’ world championships, according to the following scale:

1st place: 25 points
2nd place:18 points
3rd place: 15 points
4th place: 12 points
5th place: 10 points
6th place: 08 points
7th place: 06 points
8th place: 04 points
9th place: 02points
10th place: 1 point

(The only exception to this is when a race is suspended and cannot be restarted. If less than 75 per cent of the race distance has been completed half points are awarded, and if less than two laps have been completed, no points are awarded.)

For example, if in a given race Felipe Massa finishes second for Ferrari and team mate Fernando Alonso fifth, then Massa and Alonso score 18 and 10 points respectively towards the drivers’ championship, while Ferrari score 28 points (18 plus 10) towards the constructors’ championship.

The driver with the most points at the end of the season is declared drivers’ champion. Similarly the constructor with the most points is declared constructors’ champion. In the case of a dead heat for a championship place then the driver or team with the higher number of superior race results will be awarded the place. For example, if McLaren and Renault finish the season top of the table on equal points, then the team with the most race wins will be declared champion.