Lewis Hamilton extended his championship lead over team-mate Nico Rosberg to 17 points as he took his fourth win of the season in a closely-fought Canadian Grand Prix. Valtteri Bottas scored Williams’ first podium finish since last year’s Abu Dhabi Grand Prix with third place, while Kimi Räikkönen took fourth ahead of hard-charging team-mate Sebastian Vettel who took 10 points after a P18 start.

When the lights went out, Hamilton made a good start and held his advantage over Rosberg into the first corner. Behind them Räikkönen briefly came under pressure from Bottas but the Ferrari driver held on to stay third, with Lotus’ Romain Grosjean fifth behind Bottas. Hulkenberg, meanwhile, passed Maldonado for sixth.

Unsurprisingly, with Massa, Vettel out of place, most of the action happened at the rear of the field. By lap four Vettel was up to 14th place from P18 on the grid and then passed Fernando Alonso into the chicane to claim P13. Massa, who had started 15th was already up to P12. At the very back Jenson Button, who had suffered a 15-place grid drop due to power unite parts replacement and thus had take a time penalty due to not taking part in qualifying, served a drive through and set off after P19 man Will Stevens.

Vettel’s progress through the order was hampered, however by a bungled first pit stop on lap seven. The German spent 6.6s waiting for his opening new supersofts to be exchanged for another set of the red-banded tyres and rejoined in last position. By contrast, Massa was prospering.

At the front, Hamilton led Rosberg, with Räikkönen a further 2.4 seconds back. The Ferrari driver was being shadowed by Bottas who was now two seconds behind in fourth, managing to take third place after the Ferrari driver spun badly at the hairpin on cold tyres after his first pit stop. Hamilton took his fourth Canadian Grand Prix win comfortably. Rosberg crossed the line just over three seconds afterwards and Bottas took his seventh career podium finish. Räikkönen claimed fourth ahead of Vettel, with Massa sixth and Maldonado scored his first points of the year in seventh. He was followed to the flag by Hulkenberg, while Kvyat held off Grosjean who took the final point on offer.
70 laps, 305.270km., Weather: Sunnny.
 P.     DRIVER             TEAM         TIME/GAP  
 1. Lewis Hamilton      Mercedes AMG   1h31m53.145
 2. Nico Rosberg        Mercedes AMG    +    2.285
 3. Valtteri Bottas     Williams        +   40.666
 4. Kimi Raikkonen      Ferrari         +   45.625
 5. Sebastian Vettel    Ferrari         +   49.903
 6. Felipe Massa        Williams        +   56.381
 7. Pastor Maldonado    Lotus           + 1:06.664
 8. Nico Hulkenberg     Force India     +    1 lap
 9. Daniil Kvyat        Red Bull        +    1 lap
10. Romain Grosjean     Lotus           +    1 lap
11. Sergio Perez        Force India     +    1 lap
12. Carlos Sainz JR.    Toro Rosso      +    1 lap
13. Daniel Ricciardo    Red Bull        +    1 lap
14. Markus Ericsson     Sauber          +    1 lap
15. Max Verstappen      Toro Rosso      +    1 lap
16. Felipe Nasr         Sauber          +   2 laps
17. Will Stevens        Manor           +   4 laps

2014 Daniel Ricciardo - Red Bull - 1h39:12.830

FASTEST LAP: Kimi Raikkonen - 1:16.987            

DRIVER               TEAM          ON LAP         
Roberto Merhi        Manor             61
Jenson Button        McLaren           56
Fernando Alonso      McLaren           46