For the third time in a row and the sixth time this year, Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg has claimed pole position, which should help his prospects in the Hungarian Grand Prix, as 13 wins have been taken from pole at the Hungaroring from 28 races to date. Reigning world champion Sebastian Vettel lines up alongside him in second. Hamilton was the favourite for pole after topping all three free practice sessions, but he was eliminated just five minutes into Q1 when he stopped in the pit entry with the rear of his Mercedes ablaze thanks to a fuel leak. Kimi Raikkonen was a shock casuality during Q1, ending the session 17th fastest.

The rain shower in Q3 showed how just a small burst of rain can really alter the situation, and with some doubt about the weather tomorrow, this is something that could affect the race as well. Magnussen was caught out by that rain shower which doused the circuit at the first corner and slid into the tyre barriers. Although he still qualified in 10th position, McLaren has been forced to change the chassis and gearbox of his MP4-29, necessitating a pit lane start.

Bottas was third, ahead of Ricciardo and Ferrari's Fernando Alonso. Felipe Massa was sixth for Williams, ahead of Jenson Button and a fine effort from Toro Rosso's Jean-Eric Vergne. Hulkenberg ended up in ninth, while Magnussen rounded out the top 10 after his accident.
 P.    DRIVER             TEAM           TIME       GAP  
 1.  Nico Rosberg       Mercedes AMG   1:22.715
 2.  Sebastian Vettel   Red Bull       1:23.201  +  0.486
 3.  Valtteri Bottas    Williams       1:23.354  +  0.639
 4.  Daniel Ricciardo   Red Bull       1:23.391  +  0.676
 5.  Fernando Alonso    Ferrari        1:23.909  +  1.194
 6.  Felipe Massa       Williams       1:24.223  +  1.508
 7.  Jenson Button      McLaren        1:24.294  +  1.579
 8.  Jean-Eric Vergne   Toro Rosso     1:24.720  +  2.005
 9.  Nico Hulkenberg    Force India    1:24.775  +  2.060
10.  Kevin Magnussen    McLaren        no time
    Q2 fastest time: Lewis Hamilton 1:16.354             
11.  Daniil Kvyat       Toro Rosso     1:24.706  +  1.396
12.  Adrian Sutil       Sauber         1:25.136  +  1.826
13.  Sergio Perez       Force India    1:25.211  +  1.901
14.  Esteban Gutierrez  Sauber         1:25.260  +  1.950
15.  Romain Grosjean    Lotus          1:25.337  +  2.027
16.  Jules Bianchi      Marussia       1:27.419  +  4.109
    Q1 fastest time: Jean-Eric Vergne 1:16.682           
17.  Kimi Raikkonen     Ferrari        1:26.792  +  1.851
18.  Kamui Kobayashi    Caterham       1:27.139  +  2.198
19.  Max Chilton        Marussia       1:27.819  +  2.878
20.  Marcus Ericsson    Caterham       1:28.643  +  3.702
21.  Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes AMG   no time
22.  Pastor Maldonado   Lotus          no time
    107% time: 1:14.379